Disabled woman fights off robber with her crutches

Its always good to hear about someone who has fought back against criminals and won.

“A DISABLED woman fought off a mugger with her crutch while making an SOS call to police. The woman grappled with the man as he tried to grab her suitcase in Victoria Centre. The man had tried to snatch the suitcase in Glasshouse Street less than two minutes earlier.

The woman, who is her early 30s, said: “The police were asking me to describe him, but it was difficult to speak as I was fending him off with my crutch.

“I managed to keep him far enough away so he could not grab me physically, but he kept trying to grab my suitcase. I had my passport and other valuable items with me. I thought I must do everything in my power to defend myself. I remember seeing a CCTV camera and telling the man it was watching what was happening. He did not stop and had this crazed look on his face.”

The man ran off empty-handed. Police arrived shortly after the incident at 5.15am on Sunday, September 28, but were unable to find the culprit. The woman, who is from St Ann’s, added: “I had been looking for a taxi at Glasshouse Street when the man first tried to get my suitcase.”

Follow the link below for a description of the man.

http://www.thisisnottingham.co.uk/news/Disabled-woman-fights-crazed-man-crutches-whilst-phone-police/article-390370-detail/article.html

Leave a comment