Nil by mouth for a week!

A previous patient at Nottingham City Hospital posted this experience on the patient opinion website.

“I think the cleanliness could have been better (at Nottingham City Hospital) as the nurses dealt with the bins and then directly swapped to my wound without using gloves or washing hands.

I was put on a nil-by-mouth when my operation could be up to a week away! I felt no one seemed concerned about how long I went without fluid or food and nearly collapsed.

In the end I opted for a local rather than a general anaesthetic. So I didn’t end up with seriously low blood sugar and dehydration (with local anaesthetic I was allowed to eat and drink).”

Follow the link below to read more.

http://www.patientopinion.org.uk/opinion.aspx?opinionID=20442

Leave a Reply

